The Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs), also known as the Global Goals, were adopted by all 193 United Nations Member States in 2015 as a universal call to action to end poverty, protect the planet and ensure that all people everywhere enjoy peace and prosperity by the year 2030. The videos below provide brief, one-minute introductions to each of the 17 goals.

What are the SDGs?

SDG1: No poverty

Black Lives Matter & the SDGs

SDG2: Zero hunger

SDG3: Good health & well-being

SDG5: Gender equality

SDG4: Quality education

SDG6: Clean water & sanitation

SDG7: Affordable & clean energy

SDG9: Industry,
innovation & infrastructure

SDG11: Sustainable cities
& communities

SDG13: Climate acti0n

SDG15: Life on land

SDG8: Decent work & economic growth

SDG10: Reduced inequalities

SDG12: Responsible
consumption & production

SDG14: Life below water

SDG16: Peace and justice

SDG17: Partnerships